Update: Man Charged With First Degree Murder In Clarksburg Death Investigation

Ryan Salandy

Ryan Salandy

Detectives from the Major Crimes Division – Homicide Section and the Collision Reconstruction Unit (CRU) continue to investigate the death of an adult male that occurred yesterday, September 25, in the 23000 block of Sweetspire Drive in Clarksburg.

Today, detectives have charged Ryan Anthony Salandy, 22 years old, of Amber Ridge Circle in Germantown, with first degree murder.  Investigators are also identifying the victim as William Dean McDaniel, 21 years old, of the 23000 block of Sweetspire Drive.  Detectives are now investigating this as a homicide.

On Friday, September 25, at approximately 12:21 p.m., officers from the 5th District responded to the 23000 block of Sweetspire Drive in Clarksburg for the report of a pedestrian who had been struck by a vehicle. Responding officers located William McDaniel deceased in the roadway.  The driver of the striking vehicle had fled from the scene.  At approximately 12:47 p.m., a person called the Emergency Communications Center (ECC) and stated that the driver and the vehicle involved in the pedestrian collision were at a residence on Amber Ridge Circle in the Milestone area of Germantown.  Officers responded to that address and located the vehicle and driver of the vehicle.  The driver was identified as Ryan Salandy of that address.

Detectives interviewed witnesses as well as Salandy and learned that Salandy and McDaniel were involved in an altercation on Sweetspire Drive yesterday afternoon.  Salandy initially drove away from the argument but circled back to Sweetspire Drive.  Salandy was observed to strike McDaniel with his vehicle, a silver, 2006 Saab, and flee from the scene.  Salandy admitted that he intentionally struck McDaniel with his vehicle.

Ryan Anthony Salandy, charged with one count of first degree murder, is being held without bond.  Bond review is scheduled for Monday, September 28, at 1:00 p.m. in Rockville.

Anyone with information regarding this homicide is asked to call the Major Crimes Division at 240.773.5070


Police Investigate Reported Suspicious Situation in Flower Hill Area of Gaithersburg

The Montgomery County Police Department is currently investigating the report of a suspicious situation in the SealFlower Hill neighborhood of Gaithersburg. Today at approximately 4:48 p.m., officers responded to the area near Flower Hill Elementary School, located at 18425 Flower Hill Way, for the report of a suspicious situation.

Preliminary investigation revealed that two girls, ages 11 and 15, were walking together on the sidewalk adjacent to Flower Hill Way.  Near the elementary school, a white work van approached the girls. The van then stopped in the roadway and a white male driver, believed to be in his 30’s and wearing a white t-shirt, called out to them and blew kisses toward them. The girls continued to walk and then heard the slider door (on the opposite side of the van) open and saw another male exit the vehicle and walk toward them. One of the girls took out her cell phone and both girls began to run. The passenger returned to the van. The van was last seen on Flower Hill Way headed toward Snouffer School Road. The girls ran home and family members called 9-1-1.

There is no further description of the vehicle or two males at this time. Police are asking anyone with information about this incident or any previous activity that might relate to this incident to please the police non-emergency number at 301-279-8000.


CRU Detectives Investigating Serious Pedestrian Collision

Detectives from the Montgomery County Police Collision Reconstruction Unit are investigating a serious pedestrian collision that occurred today at approximately 2:42 p.m.

Third District officers and Fire and Rescue Service personnel responded to the area of the 700 block of Langley Drive and the 600 block of University Boulevard for the report of a pedestrian struck by an automobile. The initial investigation determined that the adult male pedestrian was crossing University Boulevard in an eastbound direction and not in a marked crosswalk. A gray 2006 Honda Accord was traveling northbound on University and for unknown reasons struck the pedestrian. The pedestrian victim was transported to an area hospital for treatment of life-threatening injuries.

The pedestrian was identified as Luis Alonso Romero, age 35, of the 9500 block of Biltmore Drive in Silver Spring.  The driver of the Honda was identified as Marie Jeanne Adjoba Assale, age 49, of the 8800 block of Piney Branch Road in Silver Spring.

The collision remains under investigation. Detectives are asking anyone with information regarding this collision to call the Collision Reconstruction Unit at 240-773-6620. Callers may remain anonymous.



September 21, 2015 11:15 a.m. – Release was updated to include pedestrian’s name.


Concern For Missing Kensington Man

Eugene Brisco

Eugene Brisco

UPDATE: Eugene Brisco, age 60, of the 10200 block of Frederick Avenue in Kensington, has been located and has been reunited with family.

The Department thanks the media and public for sharing this missing person case.

Detectives from the 2nd District Investigative Section are requesting the public’s assistance in locating a missing Kensington man who has Alzheimer’s.

Eugene Brisco was last seen by family this morning (September 14) at his residence at approximately 8:00 a.m.  He is described as an African American male, 60 years old, 6′ 2″ tall, and weighing 190 pounds.  At the time of his disappearance, he was wearing a black hat, white shirt, black pants, and black shoes.  Eugene Brisco also wears a dog tag with his name, his wife’s name, and their phone number on it.  He resides in an apartment in the 10200 block of Frederick Avenue in Kensington and is known to frequent the Kensington commercial area, specifically the Safeway.

Anyone with information regarding the whereabouts of Eugene Brisco is asked to call the Montgomery County Police at 301.279.8000.